In contrast with a public tweet which is visible to everyone, protected tweets are tweets that can be seen by only you and the users you have pre-approved to view what you post on your timeline.
The moment you create an account on Twitter, you will immediately be given the option to either keep your tweets public or to restrict them to your followers.
If your tweets are protected, users who would like to access your timeline will have to manually ask for your approval; and you will have to approve them one by one.
Here’s a photo of what a protected account will look like to someone who is not an approved follower.
The decision to protect tweets depends on why you created a Twitter account in the first place.
When you sign in to your Twitter account, go to Account Settings by clicking that icon that looks like a person at the top right of the page. A drop-down menu will appear. Click Settings.
Scroll down to Tweet Privacy and check the box next to ‘Protect My Tweets’. Click the Save button. You will be asked to key in your password to confirm this move.
When you move back to your home page after protecting your tweets, you’ll see a notice reminding you of the change. Going back to Account Settings will also show that the ‘Protect My Tweets’ box has already been checked.
At some point, you might change your mind and want to make your posts public once again, either to gain more followers or simply make your messages more accessible and searchable.
To do this, you can just go back to Account Settings > Tweet Privacy > Uncheck the box. Don’t forget to Save Changes after.